bendiciones

imagesben

I went for the last time (this trip at least) to my “adopted” church. It was harder than I had though it would be. Although I do not speak much Spanish, these people have become my family here. They have loved me. They have translated for me. They have allowed me the privilege of worshiping God with them.

Near the end of the service, the pastor’s wife did something I was not expecting. She asked me to come to the front of the church. She asked the church leaders to come forward and a group of men and women came forward. They laid hands on me and prayed for me. I was undone. They thanked me for worshiping with them. They prayed for my family. They prayed for my trip home.

A benediction in the most wonderful sense of the word.

I was so blessed to have been her. The presence of God is here and, for a month, I got to experience it in my life and I was so richly blessed.

Adios, mi amigos.

Oh, I have a hope, I have a treasure
I have found a place
Where I have no need for my earthly possessions
And my worries just fade away

And when sickness and death are at my door
Trying to steal from me
Oh, they cannot take what I’ve already laid down
At Jesus feet

Matt Hammitt

Leave a comment